Oregon Graduated Driver Licensing

Oregon’s seven-year-old graduated driver license laws have saved teenagers’ lives and prevented injuries on roadways, according to a federal study released March 14.
Overall, the restrictions and requirements of new drivers younger than 18 years have improved traffic safety since the program began in Oregon in March 2000, according to the Evaluation of Oregon’s Graduated Driver Licensing Program sponsored by the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration. The study cited several safety benefits for all Oregonians: 

  • Crash rates declined for both male and female drivers age 16 to 17, particularly for 16-year-old drivers in the first six months of holding a license – when Oregon restrictions are strictest.
  • Crash rates for young male drivers – typically higher than for young female drivers – generally fell closer to female rates.
  • Rates of traffic convictions and license suspensions declined for all teenagers, not only for 16- and 17-year-old drivers but also for 18- and 19-year-old novice drivers.
  • Teenagers who took a driver’s education course showed significantly lower rates of traffic convictions, crashes and license suspensions.

In the past decade, Oregon and many other states have introduced graduated driver licensing because the crash and traffic fatality rates for drivers younger than 18 have been highest of any age group.

"The first six months with a driver license is the most dangerous time for a 16-year-old behind the wheel," said Troy E. Costales, Oregon Department of Transportation Safety Division administrator. "So Oregon's strategy is to require more learning time with fewer distractions, such as other teenagers in the car."

During 1998 in Oregon, before graduated driver licensing, there were 1,196 fatal or injury crashes with a 16-year-old behind the wheel of the car, according to ODOT crash data. That figure declined to 898 in 2000, when graduated licensing began to have an impact. It further declined to 810 in 2001, 743 in 2002 and 751 in 2003.

Oregon’s GDL program includes these requirements for new drivers younger than 18:

  • A new driver younger than 18 must hold an Oregon Instruction Permit for at least six months before applying for a provisional driver license.
  • An applicant must provide parental verification of at least 50 hours of driving experience, supervised by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and has held a driver license for at least three years; and completion of an ODOT-approved driver safety course or completion of an additional 50 hours of supervised driving.
  • During the first six months with a license, drivers younger than 18 may not carry any passenger younger than 20 who is not a member of the driver’s immediate family.
  • During the second six months, the driver younger than 18 may not carry more than three passengers who are younger than 20 and who are not members of the driver’s immediate family.
  • During the first year, a driver may not drive between midnight and 5 a.m. except to and from employment or for job purposes, between home and a school event when no other transportation is available, or with a passenger who is at least 25 years old.

In addition, the Oregon Driver Improvement Program is stricter for drivers younger than 18 than it is for adults:

  • If a driver younger than 18 gets two traffic violations, two crashes or one crash and one violation, DMV will restrict the driver’s privileges. For the 90-day restriction, the driver many drive only for employment purposes and may not have any passenger except a parent, stepparent or guardian.
  • If a driver younger than 18 gets a third traffic violation or crash, DMV will suspend the driver for six months. The suspension will continue when the driver turns 18, and any additional violations or crashes reported to DMV before the driver turns 18 will invoke another concurrent six-month suspension.

"Parents, law enforcement, driver educators, judges and even teens themselves all voiced support for graduated licensing and said that it improves safety," Costales said. "Even though teens in the study's focus groups didn't like some of the restrictions, they all agreed that it enhanced their safety."

The study, conducted for NHTSA by the Center for Applied Research Inc., analyzed Oregon crash and traffic conviction data and assembled focus groups that included teens, parents, DMV road test administrators, driving instructors, police, high school administrators and judges who preside over traffic adjudications involving teen drivers. The results were announced March 14 at Lifesavers 2005 in Charlotte, N.C., in a meeting of the National Conference on Highway Safety Priorities.

What is Oregon Graduated Driver Licensing?

What is Oregon GDL? Oregon Graduated Driver Licensing is a system for phasing in on-road driving, allowing beginners to get their initial experience under conditions that involve lower risk and introducing them in stages to more complex driving situations.

Take some time to watch the Young Drivers video here. See if your teen likes this video. If they do, they will love our Oregon graduated driver licensing program.

  • We begin with combining the in-class with the behind-the-wheel training process concurrent with one another.
  • Then we add more hours behind-the-wheel to give the new drivers an opportunity to experience all four seasons and weather conditions under a controlled risk factor.
  • We take away the 6 hour driver training clock and base achievement and graduation on performance, skill and experience.

Remember when we were trying to teach our new teenagers as if we were traveling on a two-lane dirt road at 35 MPH, when our average traveled speed in Oregon exceeds 55 MPH on a six-lane highway? Most families had a single vehicle in the fifties and sixties, and then to two vehicles in the seventies. The days of driving on weekends with mom and dad for the first year or two is over. In today’s hectic schedules, we are not allowing ourselves time to protect our Oregon teens and teach them to drive as we should be. Parents need to realize that as the times change we must keep pace with that change.

Our driving generation, 35 to 50 years old, will be remembered as the worse driving generation in the history of the vehicle. We average 40,000 fatalities per year. Our generation needs to change the way we think and teach Oregon graduated driver licensing.

If you look closely, you'll realize we spend about 12 years on basic education, reading writing, math, history and physical education…and only 6 hours behind the wheel training in a vehicle.

We need to be remembered as the generation that created the best Oregon drivers in history. The generation that did something about the way we think and teach driver training. We need help from every mom and dad to complete this goal. We need to invest our time in our teenagers and take the time needed to teach our children to drive better.

This could mean as much as 1 or two years of guidance. And to do this you will need the very best Oregon curriculum and training videos available. You will need to allow Oregon graduated driver licensing to become part of your families dinner conversation and sharing experiences on new intersections, changes on the interstate on ramps or maybe a lost of a fellow student friend.

Oregon Driver education and training is no longer a project to hire out to the local driving school. Parents need to get involved and stay involved for at least two or three years. Placing driving restrictions and hours on when a new driver is allowed to drive and with whom. This, in essence, is Oregon Graduated Driver Licensing.


Online Video Library

As soon as you enroll, the student will have access to over 7 hours of excellent quality video content at the click of the button. All graduated driver licensing videos are also available on our Video Library DVD featured below. The online program is easy to follow, and provides over 100 video clips throughout the course to guide the teen driver along the way. A high speed internet access is required.

What is Graduated Driver Licensing?

Essentially an apprentice system, graduated driver licensing utilizes three stages. the first is a supervised learner's period, lasting a minimum of 6 months in optimal systems, then an intermediate licensing phase that allows unsupervised driving, but only in less risky situations, and finally a full-privilege license becomes available when requirements of the first two stages have been met.

Within this framework, substantial variation is possible in terms of the provisions of the stages and their duration. This variation often has created difficulty for jurisdictions that are producing a graduated driver licensing system. Lawmakers need to know what sections their system should include and what the features should be.

About Us About Us

NDT's foundational curriculum combines the at-home or classroom study with hands-on activities, focusing on all parts of the mind while examing the young driver's grasp of the lesson. Not only does this make concepts easier to learn and remember, it’s a blast!

There are seven levels to the curriculum, providing over 30 hours of accreditation. Each lesson ends with a written exam, which can be taken repeatedly if necessary to achieve the desired score.